Honorary members

Membership gives you a voice in directing the future of Ballarat and the region. Thank you to new and ongoing members for your continued support.

Members > Judy Verlin AM


Following more than ten years in local government (including periods as Mayor of City of Ballarat), Judy Verlin was Chair of Committee for Ballarat from October 2012 until October 2015.

She was appointed an Honorary member by the Board in December 2015 in recognition of her great service to Committee and the broader Ballarat regional community.

Extremely active in the broader community, Judy is a Board Member of Sovereign Hill and a Member of the Regional Development Australia (Grampians) Committee.

Judy’s past experience includes small business owner and director, Executive Officer of the Central Highlands Area Consultative Committee and Manager of Small Business Development at BRACE.

Judy has served in local government as a City of Ballarat Councillor from 1996-2002 and for a further four years from 2008. She served as Mayor in 1998, 1999, 2009 and 2010.

During her time with local government, Judy was Chair of Regional Cities of Victoria, Chair of Central Highlands Regional Mayors and CEO’s Forum, and Board Member of the International League of Historical Cities Network.
Judy has received recognition for her service with the Municipal Association of Victoria Mayor Emeritus Award and awarded a Paul Harris Fellow for community service by the Ballarat South Rotary Club.

In January 2013, Judy was recognised in the Australia Day honours being made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to the Ballarat community. In May that year, Judy was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Ballarat (now Federation University Australia) for her services to the Ballarat community.