latest news

latest news

Black spot funding connecting the region

25 Jun 2015

The Committee for Ballarat welcomes announcements made today by the Federal Government and Telstra covering the installation of mobile towers in the Pyrenees, Hepburn, Golden Plains, Moorabool, Northern and Southern Grampians regions.

This program is part of a $340 million investment in regional and rural Australia, with $165 million from Telstra, $94.8 million from the Federal Government and tens of millions in targeted additional funding from State and Local Governments.

Committee for Ballarat Chair, Judy Verlin AM stated “this is a significant announcement that will fill an enormous gap in supporting the continued development and growth of rural communities in our region”.

Telstra Country Wide Area General Manager for South West Victoria, Bill Mundy said, “over the next three years, the new towers will be installed across South West Victoria, significantly expanding mobile coverage in the area.”

In addition to the new mobile towers, Telstra will be installing 250 Small Cells to deliver high speed 4G data services in some small country towns where suitable Telstra infrastructure is available.

Verlin added, “the physical and virtual connectivity of our region has been a key focus of Committee’s work in recent years and we have supported local Shires and Councils in the Central Highlands Region in our advocacy to the State & Federal Governments and Telstra for funding.

Today’s announcement will not only improve mobile coverage but deliver a more reliable service that will lead to improved productivity and increased business opportunities for our regional communities”.

Download media release


List of towns

Towns in the Central Highlands region targeted to receive funding for mobile black spot coverage over the next three years, subject to appropriate Town Planning approvals.

Golden Plains: Dereel, Steiglitz

Hepburn: Bullarto, Denver, Eganstown, Glenlyon, Leonards Hill, Lyonville, Moorabool, Blackwood

Northern Grampians: Marnoo A, Marnoon B, Wallaloo East, York Plains

Pyrenees: Landsborough, Landsborough West, Moonambel

Southern Grampians: Culla, Mirranatwa, Muntham, Nareen, Pigeon Ponds, Victoria Valley